Turning a normal scene>arctic scene

The next brief set for this weekly project is to turn a scene we have photographed into an “arctic” (snowy scene). In order to do this I will need a photograph I have shot in 1920 x 1080 resolution. Alex did not clarify what software but I think I will be using Nuke mostly but maybe with Photoshop and Maya. I have created such scenes in Photoshop but not in Nuke so it will e a fun challenge.

Analysing some Snowy scenes. 

I began this process by analysing such scenes! This way I will have visual confirmation what I am envisioning in my head.

59926_10151399570148265_892951599_n 555300_10151399817338265_908306703_n

Above are two photos that I took a couple of winters ago. I wanted to analyse for my composite scene. What can I note from the above images. 1. The further away something the lack of detail. Almost creating the illusion of a 2d. Furthermore there is a lack of red and greens, focusing more on whites and blues. Browns are more prevalent.

vf.xsnow

Above are snow scenes as well as VFX built snow films in TV and film. I wanted to create a mood board of this to look at the difference from say my photographs above and this. There is a lot more atmosphere. A huge part in creating VFX is creating a sense of atmosphere. This is something I should consider when trying to create my snowy scene.

Experimenting


Attempt 1 – Shot in 34c in Tokyo this summer 

IMG_1759
Original

snowattempt4snowattempt3

snowattempt2  Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 12.25.06

The above I tried to take into account some of the depth perception Sean was talking about during his lesson of Matte Painting. I blurred out the furthest away from the camera and increased the blue as it was further away. Further more from my studies from the above I tried to make the stuff which is furthest away look more 2D. I also added snowflakes in the foreground in order to distract the viewers like Sean said.


Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 16.57.36

I experimented with using rotoscope but in the end sued photoshop to separate the different elements. And work with roto after.


IMG_1865

Plotting down some ideas for how I wanted the piece to look like.


Attempt 2 – Photographed in Norfolk two weeks ago

I wanted to carry out another experiment playing around with atmosphere of the piece. A big part of putting such scenes in films.

before

attemp3.3Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 14.42.15attemp3 Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 14.26.57

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 13.46.47

I really enjoyed paying around changing the tone of a piece through atmosphere and changing the temperature of the image. It is a technique I want to improve more. For instance on this experiment I want to add more realistic snow. I think it looks fake and not realistic I could have added elements of real snow or adding a blur node or grain node to loose the sharpness of the snow.


Other versions

IMG_1861
Sketching out ideas
Leave a Reply

